MWA Announces Grandmaster, Raven, Ellery Queen Award Winners

The Mystery Writers of America won’t give out the Edgar Awards until April 29, but today they announced the 2010 Grandmaster, Raven and Ellery Queen Award recepients. Dorothy Gilman, the author of the delightful (and strangely little-talked about lately) Mrs. Polifax novels, is the new Grandmaster.

“What a lovely

surprise!” Gilman said in the accompanying press release. “The list of past Grand Masters is like a Who’s

Who of the great mystery writers of the last century. To be chosen for

this award by my professional peers has to be the greatest honor of my

60 years as an author.”

Zev Buffman, a Broadway producer and the man behind the International Mystery Writers Festival in Owensboro, KY, and Mary Alice Gorman & Richard Goldman, proprietors of the Mystery Lovers Bookshop in Oakmont, PA, will receive the Raven Awards. Barbara Peters & Robert Rosenwald of the Poisoned Pen – Bookstore and Press – are the Ellery Queen Award winners.