The 2008 Los Angeles Times Book Prize Nominations

The full list of the 2008 LA Times Book Prize nominations is available here, but for our purposes, let’s focus on the Mystery/Thriller category, which was judged by Dick Adler, Oline Cogdill and yours truly. Here’s the shortlist we came up with:

Colin Harrison, THE FINDER
Michael Koryta, ENVY THE NIGHT
Simon Lewis, BAD TRAFFIC
Tom Rob Smith, CHILD 44

The winner of this category, as well as of all the Book Prize categories, will be announced at ceremony held at the LA Times building on Friday, April 24th in advance of the Festival of Books, which will take place that weekend.

Congratulations to all the nominees! And judging the Book Prizes was easily one of the best experiences I’ve had in my professional life.