The 2007 Barry Awards

Mystery News and Deadly Pleasures are pleased to announce the winners of the 2007 Barry Awards. The Barry Awards are named for of one of the most ardent and beloved ambassadors of mystery fiction, Barry Gardner, and are voted on by the readers of Mystery News and Deadly Pleasures.

The 11th Annual Barry Awards presentation took place at the opening reception at Bouchercon in Anchorage, Alaska on September 27, 2007. This is the first year that Mystery News has joined Deadly Pleasures in co-sponsoring the Barry Awards.

Best Novel – The Night Gardener by George Pelecanos

Best First Novel – Still Life by Louise Penny

Best British Mystery Novel – Priest by Ken Bruen

Best Thriller – The Messenger by Daniel Silva

Best Paperback Original – The Cleanup by Sean Doolittle

Best Short Story – “The Right Call” by Brendan DuBois

The Don Sandstrom Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement in Mystery Fandom was presented to Beth Fedyn.

Congratulations to all the winners.