Awards, awards, Applause, applause

First we have the shortlist for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year:

All Fun and Games Until Somebody Loses an Eye, by Christopher Brookmyre
Blood and Honey, by Graham Hurley
Cold Granite, by Stuart MacBride
The Dead Place, by Stephen Booth
• The Death Ship of Dartmouth, by Michael Jecks
Two Way Split, by Allan Guthrie

And then we have the nominees for the Macavity Award:

Best Mystery Novel:

Christine Falls by Benjamin Black [John Banville] (Picador)
The Janissary Tree by Jason Goodwin (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
The Dead Hour by Denise Mina (Bantam)
The Virgin of Small Plains by Nancy Pickard (Ballantine)
Piece of My Heart by Peter Robinson (McClelland & Stewart)
All Mortal Flesh by Julia Spencer-Fleming (Minotaur)
Best First Novel**:

Consigned to Death by Jane K. Cleland (Minotaur)
47 Rules of Highly Effective Bank Robbers by Troy Cook (Capital
Crime Press)
King of Lies by John Hart (Minotaur)
A Field of Darkness by Cornelia Read (Mysterious)
Mr. Clarinet by Nick Stone (Michael Joseph Ltd/Penguin)
Best Nonfiction**:

Mystery Muses: 100 Classics That Inspire Today’s Mystery Writers
edited by Jim Huang and Austin Lugar (Crum Creek)
The Beautiful Cigar Girl: Mary Rogers, Edgar Allan Poe, and the
Invention of Murder by Daniel Stashower (Dutton)
Don’t Murder Your Mystery: 24 Fiction Writing Techniques To Save
Your Manuscript From Ending Up D.O.A. by Chris Roerden (Bella Rosa

Best Short Story:

“Provenance” by Robert Barnard (EQMM, Jul 2006)
“Disturbance in the Field” by Roberta Isleib (Seasmoke: Crime
Stories by New England Writers, edited by Kate Flora, Ruth McCarty,
& Susan Oleksiw; Level Best Books)
“Til Death Do Us Part” by Tim Maleeny (MWA Presents Death Do Us
Part: New Stories about Love, Lust, and Murder, edited by Harlan
Coben; Little, Brown)

Sue Feder Historical Mystery:

The Lightning Rule by Brett Ellen Block (Morrow)
Oh Danny Boy by Rhys Bowen (Minotaur)
The Bee’s Kiss by Barbara Cleverly (Constable & Robinson)
Dark Assassin by Anne Perry (Ballantine)
Messenger of Truth by Jacqueline Winspear (Holt)

Congrats to all the nominees.