Anthony Award nominations

And I must say, the cliche is true – it really is just an honor to be nominated:

Best Mystery Novel
 Bloodlines, Jan Burke, Simon and Schuster
 Lincoln Lawyer, Michael Connelly, Little, Brown
 Mercy Falls, William Kent Krueger, Atria
 Red Leaves, Thomas H. Cook, Harcourt
 To the Power of Three, Laura Lippman

Best First Mystery
The Baby Game, Randall Hicks, Wordslinger Press
Die a Little, Megan Abbott, Simon and Schuster
 Immoral, Brian Freeman, St. Martin’s Minotaur
 Officer Down, Theresa Schwegel, St. Martin’s Minotaur
 Tilt-a-Whirl, Chris Grabenstein, Carroll & Graf

Best Paperback Original
 Good Girl’s Guide to Murder, Susan McBride, Avon
 The James Deans, Reed Farrel Coleman, Plume
 A Killing Rain, P.J. Parrish, Pinnacle
 Kiss Her Goodbye, Allan Guthrie, Hard Case Crime
 Six Bad Things, Charlie Huston, Ballantine

Best Short Story
“Driven to Distraction,” Marcia Talley, Chesapeake Crimes II, Quiet Storm
“House Rules,” Libby Fischer Hellmann, Murder in Vegas, Forge
“Killer Blonde,” Elaine Viets, Drop-Dead Blond, Signet
“Misdirection,” Barbara Seranella, Greatest Hits, Carroll & Graf
“There is No Crime on Easter Island,” Nancy Pickard, EQMM

Best Critical/Nonfiction
Behind the Mystery, Stuart Kaminsky, Hot House
Girl Sleuth: Nancy Drew and the Women Who Created Her, Melanie Rehak, Harcourt
Heirs of Anthony Boucher, Marv Lachman, Poison Pen
New Annotated Sherlock Holmes, Leslie S. Klinger, W.W. Norton
Writing and Selling Your Mystery Novel, Hallie Ephron, Writer’s Digest

Best Fan Publication
Crimespree Magazine, Jon and Ruth Jordan
Deadly Pleasures, George Easter
Mystery News, Lynn Kaczmarek and Chris Aldrich
Mystery Scene Magazine, Brian Skupin and Kate Stine
Mystery Readers Journal, Janet Rudolph

Special Service to the Field
George Easter, Deadly Pleasures
Janet Rudolph, Mystery Readers International
Maddy Van Hertbruggen, 4 Mystery Addicts
Sarah Weinman, Confessions of an Idiosyncratic Mind

Winners will be announced on Saturday, September 30, at Bouchercon in Madison, Wisconsin. Congratulations to all the nominees.